top of page

Foundation

Unfortunately, violence experienced physically, sexually or psychologically has a high rate of victims in Sri Lanka. The Sambol Foundation would like to enable women and children in Sri Lanka to help themselves. Minorities who are discriminated against are supported in everyday life by shelter, stabilization and fixed structures. Free forms of therapy, medical help for sexual abuse or free access to legal aid in court cases are offered. First, traumatic experiences are intercepted in a protected environment, then a follow-up solution is worked out so that a self-determined life is possible for the victims of gender-specific violence at a later point in time. 

 

The foundation is currently working on the realization of the first shelter village in Asia. The Sambol Safe-Village is expected to be realized by the end of 2025 on a large site in the south of the island with its own school, therapy centres, workshops, playground and individually adjustable shelters, depending on the size of the family. The construction plans were designed by Dorothee Müller, architect Msc, ETH, who accompanies the complex construction project free of charge for the foundation. In Matara, the construction will be carried out by a female engineer and her team. 

 

The foundation's name comes from an addition to Sri Lankan curry. A "sambol" is served as an extra to a curry, it gives color and an extra taste. In a figurative sense, this should also apply to the foundation. The work of the foundation is currently mainly financed by private donations.

Advisory Board

Milani Salpitikorala

IMG_8582.jpg

Members of the Board of Directors

Inoka Gamage

8f7cbf59-5c1a-4e1a-bbe0-30f6ba669a92.jpg

Manager

Padmalatha Widanaarachchige

fb0694ed-7406-4e85-a52c-9ecb0cb3df20.jpg

House Mother

Deepa Sanjeewani

75fcce28-d551-4faf-9b2e-59a2e0263d08.jpg

House Mother

Buddhi Randeniya

c0abe224-4c6a-4792-9b6b-d54362c13bce.jpg

Therapist/Psychologist

Thimasha Thalapalage

10e22f8e-d20a-4ab1-8756-eeff8c81ba0f.jpg

Teacher & Childcare Manager

Naomi Osada

6fee83e4-3377-44e6-9b91-0133b2b4acc9 2.JPG

Social Media Managerin & Fundraising

Nabeela Yaseen

IMG_8581.jpg

Members of the Board of Directors

Sachee Abevikrama

f3c08c0d-a1a7-4abe-91d2-c2909b5cbb8b.jpg

House Manager

Sriyani Mudiyanselage

4a6e1788-4482-48d8-94e3-083536cda400.jpg

House Mother

Kithmini Abeysekara

45366de1-576b-465a-9886-db3aff636e32.jpg

Office assistant

Jayani Thilakawardhana

2cf0e457-7336-4ff4-985f-1991d870c38b.jpg

Consultant & Management Assistant

Jessica Lehmann

image1-6.jpeg

Webshop & Events

Eliane Kunz

Eliane.jpeg

Fundraising

Advisory Board

Rochelle Allebes

image1-14.jpeg

President

Rochelle Allebes is a social worker FH, worked in the women's shelter in Zurich and is a co-founder of the girls' shelter there. Among other things, she has been a supervisor for many years and has experience in setting up and developing projects in the psychosocial field. She advises the foundation on conceptual, implementation and technical issues.

Catherine fields

image0-14.jpeg

Kathrin Felder is a social worker FH, co-founded the Zurich Oberland Women's Shelter and has many years of work experience in inpatient and outpatient areas of family, child and youth welfare. She has also been a member of a social foundation for many years, of which she has been President for more than 10 years. She supports the foundation in technical and conceptual questions and through her networking in the social and foundation system.

Roland Thomann

image2-9.jpeg

Roland Thomann supports the foundation with advice and action from Switzerland. The basis for this is his experience of two decades working for communication and fundraising agencies in Switzerland, the founding and development of a foundation in Indonesia and his commitment to humanitarian emergency aid as Communications Director of Médecins Sans Frontières.

Rebecca Angelini

Angelini-1.jpg

Rebecca Angelini has been committed to the interests of migrants in general and sex workers in particular, against violence against women* and against discrimination for many years. She worked for around ten years at the FIZ specialist office for trafficking in women and women migration. She completed her studies in ethnology and political science at the University of Zurich.

Anu Sivaganesan

sivaganesan_anu_18_0465_final.jpg

Anu Sivaganesan is a legal scholar and researches in the area of children's, women's, migration and human rights. She is a member of the Federal Commissions EKF and EKM and President of the Swiss Children's Lobby. She is the head of the Forced Marriage Unit. With her specialist knowledge and experience with people in emergency situations and the exchange with people from different backgrounds, she stands up for social issues.

Advisory Board

Devika & Luca Salomon

Devika.jpg

Devika and Luca work operationally, on site in the field, but also conceptually from Switzerland. Devika's in-depth knowledge of social conditions is put into practice every day in cooperation with Inoka, the local manager. In addition to her experience in working with women, she acts conscientiously and humanitarian in her role as managing director.

Luca carefully complements the diverse operational experience and wide-ranging

skills the duo.

Luca Solomon

luca_neu.jpg

Luca Salomon intensively accompanied the founding phase of the Sambol Foundation with his specialist knowledge of structures and organization. Since then he has been available to advise on fundraising, finance and legal issues.

Advisory Board

Prianthy Tschopp

IMG_1888.jpeg

Prianthy Tschopp is a trained nurse and has worked in various healthcare institutions for many years. She began her career as an Ayurveda pregnancy therapist with her own practice in Zurich. Today she works as an entrepreneur, coach and speaker. She and Devika have known each other for more than 30 years, due to the common background of the adoption. Prianthy has been supporting the foundation with a lot of heart and soul as an ambassador since it was founded and draws attention to the topic on its platforms.

Current project status

Project status December 2020

Since January 2018 our center of life has been in Sri Lanka. After we were able to set up a foundation in Switzerland, the focus, after clarifying the local conditions and regulations, was on setting up the organization and setting up the women's refuge. In October 2019 we were able to sign the lease for the shelter and were intensively involved in the implementation of the concepts and the first cases that we handled. In many ways, the foundation benefits from the know-how of the broad-based foundation board.

 

The next steps were the smooth operation of the house and the launch of a fundraising campaign to secure the future of the project. To this end, we launched crowdfunding in December. At the end of January 2020, we were able to finish this successfully. A total of almost 45,000 francs was raised, which exceeded all of our expectations.

 

The shelter was fully furnished, all permits obtained, the brochures to inform the women printed and circulated. Thanks to the generous donations, we were also able to open a public contact point for women and children in need. We can now also offer legal assistance, medical support and psychological support 5 days a week. The advice center, which also serves as an office, is centrally located on the main street, just before Matara Downtown and is accessible to every woman and her story. This gives us the opportunity, after an initial clarification, to decide together how we can best support those seeking help.

 

This advice center was officially opened at the beginning of March. It is a local tradition to boil milk on special occasions and events as a symbol of prosperity. Fresh milk is boiled in a clay pot while the whole family gathers to experience this. When the milk overflows, those who gather around it will be happy. Hopes for a better future and prosperity fill the hearts of those who are there when the thick white milk boils over and extinguishes the hissing fire. Here are a few pictures of the ceremony with two Buddhist nuns, also known as bhikkhuni. The Matara police were also present, who gave us a strong backup with their participation.

 

It was very moving for us and we were happy that it finally started.

 

When the number of infections per day rose to over 10 in mid-March, the government reacted quickly and consistently. First all schools were closed and a week later, on March 20, a curfew was imposed for the first time for the whole country. Many people suddenly found themselves without income opportunities and the situation became more and more precarious. We used our possibilities as a foundation and helped out wherever possible. We have distributed countless parcels with the most essential food or ensured medical care for sick people - and we are still doing so.

 

Due to the limited scope for action and the lack of income from tourism, we decided with a heavy heart to travel to Switzerland at the end of April. Our services in the shelter and in the counseling center will continue to be looked after by our staff without restrictions. Our local manager Inoka and her staff continued to offer our services to all victims of violence. We are in daily contact and tackle the tasks that arise together with the local employees.


We have continued to employ all staff from the tourism sector independently of the work of the foundation and thus secure six families their income. It is important to us to go through this difficult time with you. We also use our time in Switzerland to intensify fundraising for the foundation and to continue the whole "Sambol Setting" project. If the entry regulations allow it again, we will travel back to Sri Lanka and go into the next phase with fresh vigor and new ideas.

TWINT_Individueller-Betrag_DE.png
Projektstand

Donations

As a non-profit foundation, we currently use donations to cover the costs of setting up the NGO on site and setting up the shelter. We are also in the process of defining the measures to maintain security and anonymity and are recruiting locally selected specialist staff in order to be able to guarantee smooth operation and optimal support.

With your donation, you help ensure that women affected by violence have the opportunity to escape and help with their children. Women and children can be empowered by staying in this sanctuary. We will then promote future-oriented development so that some of those seeking protection will be able to pursue a self-determined life after their stay in the shelter.

 

 

Legal form & account

Our foundation is part of the non-profit collective foundation Fondation des Fondateur and is therefore tax-exempt.

 

We look forward to donations online or to the following account:

 

IBAN: CH44 0070 0114 8021 2333 5

 

Beneficiary:

Fondation des Fondateurs

Kirchgasse 42

8001 Zurich

Reason for payment: Sambol Foundation

 

A donation receipt is automatically issued for donations of 50 or more.

bottom of page

Stiftung

Körperlich, sexuell oder psychisch erlebte Gewalt hat in Sri Lanka leider eine hohe Betroffenenquote. Die Stiftung möchte eine Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe ermöglichen. Durch eine Schutzunterkunft, Stabilisierung, feste Strukturen und die Begleitung im Alltag werden zuerst traumatische Erfahrungen abgefangen. Danach soll eine Nachfolgelösung erarbeitet werden, so dass ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt möglich wäre. Der Name der Stiftung entstammt einem Zusatz zum Sri-Lankesischen Curry. Als Extra zu einem Curry wird ein "Sambol" serviert, es verleiht Farbe und einen extra Geschmack. Dies soll im übertragenen Sinn auch für die Stiftung gelten. Die Stiftung wird zur Zeit vorwiegend durch private Spenden finanziert. Informationen zu Volunteering sind hier zu finden.

Unser Team

Milani Salpitikorala

IMG_8582.jpg

Member of the Board of Directors

Inoka Gamage

Sambol foundation portrait 3.jpg

Managerin

Padmalatha Widanaarachchige

IMG_1515.jpg

House Mother

Kithmini Abeysekara

IMG_1447_edited.jpg

Office Assistant

Nabeela Yaseen

IMG_8581.jpg

Member of the Board of Directors

Sachee Abevikrama

Sambol foundation portrait 1.jpg

House-Managerin

Sriyani Mudiyanselage

Sambol foundation portrait 2.jpg

House Mother

Jessica Lehmann

image1-6.jpeg

Social Media Managerin

Stiftungsrat

Rochelle Allebes

image1-14.jpeg

Präsidentin

Rochelle Allebes ist Sozialarbeiterin FH, hat im Frauenhaus Zürich gearbeitet und ist Mitbegründerin des dortigen Mädchenhauses. Sie ist unter Anderem langjährige Supervisorin und hat Erfahrung im Aufbau und der Entwicklung von Projekten im psychosozialen Bereich. Sie berät die Stiftung in konzeptuellen, umsetzungs- und fachlichen Fragen.

Kathrin Felder

image0-14.jpeg

Kathrin Felder ist Sozialarbeiterin FH, hat das Frauenhaus Zürich Oberland mitbegründet und hat langjährige Arbeitserfahrung im stationären und ambulanten Bereich der Familien-, Kinder- und Jugendhilfe. Sie ist zudem über viele Jahre schon Mitglied einer sozialen Stiftung, von der sie seit mehr als 10 Jahre Präsidentin ist. Sie unterstützt die Stiftung in fachlichen und konzeptionellen Fragen und durch ihre Vernetzung im Sozial- und Stiftungswesen.

Anu Sivaganesan

sivaganesan_anu_18_0465_final.jpg

Anu Sivaganesan ist Rechtswissenschaftlerin und forscht im Bereich Kinder-, Frauen-, Migrations- und Menschenrechte. Sie ist Mitglied der Eidgenössischen Kommissionen EKF und EKM und Präsidentin der Kinderlobby Schweiz. Sie präsidiert die Fachstelle Zwangsheirat. Mit ihrem Fachwissen und ihren Erfahrungen mit Menschen in Notsituationen und dem Austausch mit Personen verschiedener Hintergründen steht sie für das Soziale ein.

Rebecca Angelini

Angelini-1.jpg

Rebecca Angelini engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren für die Interessen von Migrant*innen im Allgemeinen und Sexarbeiter*innen im Speziellen, gegen Gewalt an Frauen* und gegen Diskriminierungen. Sie war rund zehn Jahre bei der FIZ Fachstelle Frauenhandel und Frauenmigration tätig. Sie hat an der Universität Zürich das Studium der Ethnologie und Politikwissenschaften abgeschlossen.

Brigitte Salomon

image0-11.jpeg

Brigitte Salomon ist gelernte Pflegefachfrau Psychiatrie. Sie war in der Klinik auch in Ausbildungs- und Leitungsfunktionen tätig. Die Ausbildung zur Eltern- und Erwachsenenbildnerin ergänzt ihr Fachwissen in Projektarbeit ebenso wie ihre 10-jährige Tätigkeit im Vorstand des Vereins Tagesschulen Zürich. Sie unterstützt die Stiftung im konzeptionellen Bereich und mit ihrem privaten Netzwerk für hilfreiche Kontakte.

Roland Thomann

image2-9.jpeg

Roland Thomann unterstützt die Stiftung mit Rat und Tat aus der Schweiz. Grundlage hierfür sind seine Erfahrung von zwei Jahrzehnten Arbeit für Kommunikations- und Fundraising-Agenturen in der Schweiz, die Gründung und der Aufbau einer Stiftung in Indonesien und sein Engagement in der humanitären Nothilfe als Kommunikationsdirektor von Médecins Sans Frontières.

Gründer

Devika & Luca Salomon

Luca_Devi.jpeg

Devika und Luca sind operativ, vor Ort bei der Feldarbeit, aber auch konzeptionell aus der Schweiz tätig. Devikas vertieftest Wissen über die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse werden täglich in Zusammenarbeit mit Inoka, der lokalen Managerin in die Praxis adaptiert. Neben ihrer Erfahrung in der Frauenarbeit agiert sie in der Rolle als Geschäftsführerin gewissenhaft und humanitär.

Luca ergänzt mit Bedacht, den vielseitigen operativen Erfahrungen und breit gefächerten

Fähigkeiten das Duo.

Botschafterin

Prianthy Tschopp

IMG_1888.jpeg

Prianthy Tschopp ist gelernte Krankenschwester, hat jahrelang in verschiedenen Institutionen im Gesundheitswesen gearbeitet. Sie begann ihre Karriere als Ayurveda-Schwangerschaftstherapeutin, mit eigener Praxis in Zürich. Heute ist Sie als Unternehmerin, Coach und Speakerin tätig. Sie und Devika kennen sich bereits über 30 Jahre, dies durch den gemeinsamen Hintergrund der Adoption. Prianthy begleitet die Stiftung seit der Gründung mit viel Herzblut als Botschafterin und macht auf ihren Plattformen auf die Thematik aufmerksam.

Aktueller Projektstand

Projektstand Dezember 2020

Seit Januar 2018 ist unser Lebensmittelpunkt in Sri Lanka. Nachdem wir in der Schweiz eine Stiftung gründen konnten, lag der Fokus, nach der Klärung der lokalen Gegebenheiten und Vorschriften, im Aufbau der Organisation und dem Einrichten des Frauenhauses. Im Oktober 2019 konnten wir den Mietvertrag für das Schutzhaus unterzeichnen und beschäftigten uns intensiv mit der Umsetzung der Konzepte und den ersten Fällen, welche wir betreuten. In vielerlei Hinsicht profitiert die Stiftung vom Know-How aus dem breit aufgestellten Stiftungsrat.

 

Als nächsten Schritte waren ein reibungsloser Betrieb des Hauses und die Lancierung einer Fundraising Kampagne geplant, um die Zukunft des Projekts zu sichern. Dazu haben wir im Dezember ein Crowdfunding lanciert. Ende Januar 2020, konnten wir dieses erfolgreich beenden. Es sind total knapp 45’000 Franken zusammengekommen, was alle unsere Erwartungen übertroffen hat.

Das Schutzhaus wurde fertig eingerichtet, alle Bewilligungen eingeholt, die Broschüren, um die Frauen zu informieren gedruckt und in Umlauf gebracht. Weiter konnten wir dank den grosszügigen Spenden eine öffentliche Anlaufstelle für Frauen & Kinder in Not eröffnen. So können wir nun zusätzlich 5 Tage pro Woche Hilfeleistungen im Bereich Recht, medizinische Unterstützung und psychologischer Begleitung anbieten. Die Beratungsstelle, welche auch als Büro dient, liegt zentral an der Hauptstrasse, kurz vor Matara Downtown und ist für jede Frau und ihre Geschichte zugänglich. Somit haben wir die Möglichkeit, nach einer ersten Abklärung, gemeinsam zu entscheiden, wie wir die Hilfesuchenden am besten unterstützen können.

Anfang März wurde diese Beratungsstelle traditionell, feierlich eröffnet. Es ist eine lokale Tradition, bei besonderen Anlässen und Ereignissen Milch als Symbol des Wohlstands zu kochen. Frische Milch wird in einem Tontopf gekocht, während sich die ganze Familie versammelt, um dies zu erleben. Wenn die Milch überläuft, freuen sich diejenigen, die sich um sie herum versammeln. Hoffnungen auf eine bessere Zukunft und Wohlstand erfüllen die Herzen derer, die dabei sind, wenn die dicke weisse Milch überkocht und das zischende Feuer löscht. Hier ein paar Bilder der Zeremonie mit zwei buddhistischen Nonnen, auch Bhikkhuni genannt. Die Matara Polizei war auch anwesend, welche uns mit ihrer Teilnahme einen starken Backup vermittelt.

 

Es war für uns sehr bewegend und wir freuten uns, dass es endlich los ging.

Als Mitte März die Anzahl Ansteckungen pro Tag auf über 10 anstiegen, hat die Regierung schnell und konsequent reagiert. Zuerst wurden sämtliche Schulen geschlossen und eine Woche später, am 20. März, wurde dann erstmals eine Ausgangssperre für das ganze Land verhängt. Viele Menschen standen plötzlich ohne Einkommensmöglichkeiten da und die Situation wurde immer prekärer. Wir nutzten unsere Möglichkeiten als Foundation und halfen aus, wo es möglich war. So haben wir zahllose Pakete mit den nötigsten Nahrungsmittel verteilt oder bei kranken Menschen die medizinische Versorgung sichergestellt - und tun dies immer noch.

 

Aufgrund der eingeschränkten Handlungsmöglichkeiten und fehlenden Einnahmen aus dem Tourismus, hatten wir dann Ende April schweren Herzens entschieden, in die Schweiz zu reisen. Unser Angebot im Schutzhaus und in der Beratungsstelle wird weiterhin ohne Einschränkungen von unserem Staff betreut. Unsere lokale Managerin Inoka und ihre Mitarbeiter haben wie bisher für alle Opfer von Gewalt unsere Dienstleistungen angeboten. Wir sind im täglichen Austausch und gehen gemeinsam mit den lokalen Mitarbeitern die anfallenden Aufgaben an.


Sämtliches Personal aus dem Tourismus Bereich haben wir unabhängig von der Stiftungsarbeit weiter beschäftigt und sichern somit sechs Familien ihr Einkommen. Es ist uns wichtig, zusammen mit Ihnen durch diese schwere Zeit zu gehen. Wir nutzen unsere Zeit in der Schweiz auch, um das Fundraising für die Stiftung zu intensivieren und das ganze Projekt "Sambol Setting" weiterzuführen. Falls es die Einreisebestimmungen wieder zulassen, werden wir zurück nach Sri Lanka reisen und mit frischem Elan und neuen Ideen in die nächste Phase gehen.

TWINT_Individueller-Betrag_DE.png

Spenden

Als gemeinnützige Stiftung decken wir mit Spendengeldern aktuell die Kosten für den Aufbau des NGO vor Ort und der Einrichtung des Schutzhauses. Weiter sind wir daran, die Massnahmen zur Wahrung von Sicherheit und Anonymität zu definieren und rekrutieren lokal ausgewähltes Fachpersonal, um einen reibungslosen Betrieb und eine optimale Betreuung gewährleisten zu können.
 
Mit ihrer Spende tragen Sie dazu bei, dass von Gewalt betroffene Frauen mit ihren Kindern die Möglichkeit zur Flucht und Hilfe haben. Frauen und Kinder können durch den Aufenthalt in diesem Schutzort gestärkt werden. Anschliessend werden wir eine zukunftsorientierte Entwicklung fördern, so dass es einem Teil der Schutzsuchenden möglich wird, nach dem Aufenthalt im Schutzhaus einem selbstbestimmten Leben nachzugehen.

Gefäss und Konto

Unsere Stiftung ist Teil der gemeinnützigen Sammelstiftung Fondation des Fondateurs und somit steuerbefreit.​

Über Spenden online oder auf folgendes Konto freuen wir uns:

IBAN: CH44 0070 0114 8021 2333 5

Begünstigter:

Fondation des Fondateurs

Sambol Foundation

Breitingerstrasse 35

8002 Zürich
 

Zahlungsgrund: Sambol Foundation

Für Zuwendungen ab 50.- wird automatisch eine Spendenbescheinigung ausgestellt und per Post versendet.